Leadership and Staff

Music Director

Maestro Andrew Sewell enters his fifth season as music director of the San Luis Obispo Symphony and twenty-second season with the Wisconsin Chamber Orchestra, having had long tenures with the Wichita, Toledo and Mansfield, Ohio Symphonies.  Known for his innovative programming and knack for discovering new talent, Sewell is a highly skilled orchestra builder with a wide knowledge and range of repertoire. In demand as a guest conductor, he has led the Toronto, Detroit, Milwaukee, Columbus, Syracuse, Illinois, Monterey, Gulf Coast and Eugene Symphony Orchestras, as well as the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, Auckland Philharmonia, Christchurch Symphony, National Symphony of Mexico, Kyushu Symphony (Japan), City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong, OK Mozart Festival, WI Peninsula Music Festival and Masterworks Festivals in the US and London. In 2019, Maestro Sewell returned to guest conduct the City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong for the seventh time, in honor of their twentieth anniversary season.

A native of New Zealand, Maestro Sewell received his music training on the violin, piano and cornet, and began conducting at age 16. Six years later, he made his professional opera debut with the Mercury Opera and the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra.  Winning the Australian Guarantee Corporation’s Young Achiever’s Award allowed him to further his studies abroad. Sewell holds a Master of Music degree with Honors in Conducting from the University of Michigan

The summer Concerts on the Square in Madison continue to expand, drawing weekly crowds of 45,000 people and are a highlight of the summer.  While not conducting, he enjoys cycling and other outdoor pursuits and visiting family in New Zealand. He and his wife, Mary have three grown children and reside in Madison, Wisconsin.  Over the years he has been credited with numerous awards for services to music including the 2017, Service to Music Award from the Association of Wisconsin Symphony Orchestras, the 2013 Rabin Arts Youth Award for Individual Achievement by the Wisconsin Youth Symphony Orchestra, the 2005 Best Individual Artist Award by Wichita Arts Council, and 2005 Musician of the Year by the Wisconsin State Journal, for services to music and the greater arts community. You will often see him at a local coffee shop, grocery store or cycling on the backroads of Wisconsin or San Luis Obispo.

Thank you to our Music Director sponsor : The Foulke Correa Foundation

Executive Director

Anna James Miller is a former professional ballet dancer and dance teacher with over a decade of performing arts leadership experience. The child of four-time Grammy Award-winning cellist and composer Eugene Friesen, music has played a major role in their life since childhood.

Originally from the East Coast, Anna moved to the Seattle area in 2000 and worked for organizations including Seattle Opera, Northwest Chamber Orchestra, Spectrum Dance Theatre, Icicle Arts, Icicle Creek Theatre Festival, Federal Way Symphony, Auburn Symphony, and Bremerton Symphony. Before relocating to the Central Coast, Anna worked in a communications role with Kitsap Community Foundation, organizing a regional day of giving which raised $2.2M for 337 regional nonprofits.

With a deep passion for education as well as the arts, Anna taught funding and grant writing for nonprofits at Olympic College’s Business and Technology Division and served as a teaching assistant for graduate and PhD courses in Gonzaga University’s School of Leadership Studies. With a Bachelor of Arts in arts administration from the University of Massachusetts Amherst, a Master of Arts in organizational leadership from Gonzaga University, and professional certificates in advanced fundraising and grant and proposal writing, Anna and their visual artist spouse Bryan live in Orcutt. They have a three-year-old daughter Cassidy “Coco” and just welcomed their second daughter Della Jane. Anna is founding co-chair of the Central Coast Coalition of Arts Leaders.

Learn more about Anna in the July 2020 edition of Central Coast Journal >

Board of Directors


Jim Walker, President
Business Analyst, SESLOC Federal Credit Union

Jill LeMieux, Past President
Director of Business Strategy with Economic Vitality Corporation (EVC) of SLO County

Robert Lin, Treasurer
Attorney (Ret.)

Anita Shower, Secretary –  Host, Pismo Beach Today


Matthew Green – Director, Cuesta Sustainability Resource Center

Bob Gordon – Owner, Gordon’s Floral Design Studio

Rod Mathews – SVP, Corporate Development and Alliances

James Hathaway
Vice President Member Experience, Coast Hills Credit Union


Michael Johnson – Co-founder, CTO Doculynx

Stefan Podell – Composer and Arranger

David Slade – Attorney (Ret.)


Honorary Life Member

Clifton Swanson

Symphony Staff

Andrew Sewell
Music Director

Anna James Miller
Executive Director

Jenny Beddy
General Manager

Tess Duffy
Administrative Assistant

Thor Larsen
Stage Manager & Multimedia Production Lead

Brittney Woolley
Assistant Stage Manager

Dr. Ingrid M. Kovacs
Personnel Manager

Christopher Proctor
IT Support

Emily Lanzone, Youth Symphony Liaison & Preparatory Strings Conductor

Nancy Nagano, Youth Concert Orchestra Conductor

Grace Seng, Youth Academy String Orchestra Conductor

Al Streder, Youth Symphonic Winds Conductor

John Astaire, Percussion Instructor