Music Teachers

If you are interested in taking instrument lessons, please feel free to use the following list of music teachers for your reference.  The San Luis Obispo Symphony does not recommend or screen any of the referenced music teachers nor require that a specific music teacher be selected.  This list is provided for informational purposes only. 

Violin

Brynn Albanese
No. Coast / No. County / SLO
(805) 423-3564 
brynn68@yahoo.com 

Lisa Davidson
Grover Beach
(805) 474-0451
lisadvdsn125@gmail.com

Sharon Holland
Atascadero (Suzuki)
(805) 461-0360
sharonfiddler@aol.com

Carol Kersten
Los Osos
(805) 528-5030
Carolsnote@aol.com

Ingrid Kovacs
Arroyo Grande
(805) 270-4724
imingch@yahoo.com

Emily Lanzone
Los Osos/ Morro Bay
(503) 544-6018
emily.s.lanzone@gmail.com

Leanna Newby
Atascadero
(805) 801-7944
leanna@ccsuzukiviolin.com

Ginette Reitz
Los Osos/SLO
(805) 528-5761
ginreitz@gmail.com   

Grace Seng
San Luis Obispo
(805) 801-6784
graceseng@gmail.com
sites.google.com/site/graceseng

Phillip Shanks
Violin and Piano
San Luis Obispo
(805) 305-2029
 
Timothy Shanks
Violin and Piano
San Luis Obispo
(805) 235-5957
Mi-Young Shin
San Luis Obispo
(805) 242-1124
 

Tanya Streder
San Luis Obispo
(805) 543-7608
tstreder@charter.net

Eva Werner
San Luis Obispo
(805) 542-0466
evamitsuko@aol.com

Margaret Whitson
Arroyo Grande
(805) 474-5996
margarwhit@gmail.com
margaretwhitson.vpweb.com

 

Viola

 

Mark Kovacs
Five Cities
(805) 270-4724
mgkov2@gmail.com
www.markkovacs.org

Marisa Romo
San Luis Obispo
(858) 444-5533
marisa@slosymphony.com

Margaret Whitson
Arroyo Grande
(805) 474-5996
www.margaretwhitson.vpweb.com

 

 

Cello / Bass

Cello    

Rosslyn Thorp-Clauson
Arroyo Grande
(805) 235-5894
rcyoyomax@aol.com                       

Nan Hamilton
Arroyo Grande
(805) 489-8812
nanhamilton@hotmail.com              

Lynne Oliverius
Los Osos
(805) 235-2779
slocello@yahoo.com
ages 4+ 

Bass

Ken Hustad
Morro Bay
(805) 772-1477
ken@bassist.com

 

Winds

Flute

Bonnie Richan
Los Osos
(805) 528-7795
www.bonnierichan.com

Suzanne Duffy
San Luis Obispo
(805) 570-8817
sduffyproduction@gmail.com  

Oboe

Linda K. Ashworth
Morro Bay
(805) 772-1981

Heidi Butterfield
(805) 748-4059
www.butterfieldoboe.weebly.com
butterfield.heidi@gmail.com

Clarinet

Claude Albanese
Cambria
(805) 927-3269
aquaclaude1@gmail.com

Shannon McNeely
Morro Bay
(805) 771-9931
shannon.mcneely@gmail.com              

Abraham Perez
Atascadero   
(323) 303-4956
abrahamperez@me.com

www.abrahamclarinet.weebly.com

Lori Stermer
Atascadero
(805) 462-2827
thestermers@sbcglobal.net

Caroline Tobin
Atascadero
(805) 466-9208
rontobin@aol.com

Bassoon

John Dilworth
Los Osos
(805) 528-8018
jdilworth@jdcm.us

Lisa Nauful
(Atascadero & San Luis Obispo)
(805) 461-1516

 

 

 

 

Brass / Percussion

Trumpet     

Jerry Boots
San Luis Obispo
(805) 542-0506

Al Streder
San Luis Obispo
(805) 543-7608

Beginning Brass, Voice & Piano
Larry Grant 
(805) 801-3998
lgrant@missionprep.org                  

Percussion & Drumset 

Casey McDonald
Morro Bay
(805) 771-0238 home
(919) 413-6252 cell
kcmacd@gmail.com 

Horn

Jennifer Galvan
San Luis Obispo
(805) 459-9847

Greg Magie
Los Osos
(805) 235-0687
maestro_magie@yahoo.com

Al Streder
San Luis Obispo
(805) 543-7608

Jane Swanson
San Luis Obispo
(805) 595-2605
janeslo@me.co

 

 

   
Trombone    

Sonny Galvan
sonnygalvan@gmail.com
(559) 356-7202

Maurice Heath
(805) 478-9600
mhheath54@aol.com

Brett Malta
(805) 450-9694
 

Euphonium / Tuba

Sonny Galvan
sonnygalvan@gmail.com
(559) 356-7202

Brett Malta
(805) 450-9694
 

Piano

Emery Gall                               
Morro Bay   
(805) 771-8235

Janis Johnson
(805) 772-3786
Beginning to Advanced

Lynne Oliverius
Los Osos
(815) 228-2506
slocello@yahoo.com
ages 4+

Mark Pietri
(805) 400-9805
Jazz & Classical Idioms
Theory & Improvisation