Opening Night

Classic Series
Saturday, October 7, 2017

The Journey Begins

Performing Arts Center, San Luis Obispo l 8:00 p.m.
Conductor: Andrew Sewell
Soloist: Bion Tsang, cello

Maestro Sewell kicks off his tenure and the season with the Aotearoa Overture by New Zealand composer Douglas Lilburn. Aotearoa is the Maori name for the islands and the majestic pride of the piece sets the tone for the concert.

Along with the dramatic Dvorak Cello Concerto in B minor featuring Grammy nominee and Tchaikovsky Competition medalist Bion Tsang and Brahms Symphony No. 2, you’ll enjoy Opening Night’s big, brave start to a new era in the history of your Symphony.

Repertoire: Click on the piece to hear the music

Lilburn l Aotearoa Overture l 7 min.
Dvorak l Cello Concerto in B Minor, Op. 104 l 35 min.

Intermission l 15 min.

Brahms l Symphony No. 2 l 38 min.


Tickets: $20-85
Subscribe and save 12% by calling (805) 543-3533
Single Tickets on sale September 1, 2017