Classics in the Cohan Season Finale

Classic Series
Saturday, May 5, 2018

The Bold and Beautiful

Performing Arts Center, San Luis Obispo l 8:00 p.m.
Conductor: Andrew Sewell
Soloist: Orion Weiss, piano

The Symphony’s Season Finale features full, forceful and bold music from Beethoven and Berlioz, as well as the lilting melodies of Mozart. The music will have you swaying and perhaps nodding your head to the rhythms.

The concert begins with Beethoven’s Egmont Overture, Op. 84, written for a play, but scored by Beethoven in defiance to Napoleon naming himself Emperor.

Virtuoso and popular pianist Orion Weiss returns to the Symphony to play Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 21, a recognizable masterpiece.

The Classics season ends with Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14. With two sets of timpani and big brass, the music expresses Berlioz’s experience of falling in love and then cascading into the depths of despair. The five movements will take you on a romantic and painstaking journey like no other. The concert is simply classical at its best and puts the orchestra through its paces for a grand finale.

Repertoire: Click on the piece to hear the music

Beethoven l Egmont Overture l 9 min.
Mozart l Piano Concerto No. 21 in C Major K467 l 26 min.

Intermission l 15 min.

Berlioz l Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14 l 50 min.

Tickets: $20-80