By editor, 10/05/2017 - 12:22

Diplomat is the honored guest of the Symphony,

traveling from Los Angeles in support of

Music Director Andrew Sewell 

and to hear Lilburn’s Aotearoa Overture  


Excitement is building the San Luis Obispo Symphony’s 57th season Opening Night of Classics in the Cohan on Saturday, October 7th at 8 p.m. in the Performing Arts Center. The Consul General of New Zealand, the Honorable Maurice Williamson is the Symphony’s special guests for the performance.

Mr. Williamson is attending in support of native New Zealander and new music director Andrew Sewell, who conducts the Symphony for the first time in his new role that evening, and is especially excited to hear Douglas Lilburn’s Aotearoa Overture, a beautiful anthem that is a point of majestic pride for all New Zealanders. Aotearoa is the Maori name for the islands and the piece will set the tone for the concert. Along with the dramatic Dvorak Cello Concerto in B Minor featuring Grammy nominee and Tchaikovsky Competition medalist Bion Tsang and Brahms Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Opening Night is a big, brave start to a new era in the history of the Symphony.

Maurice Williamson took up his position as New Zealand’s Consul-General in Los Angeles in August 2017, with jurisdiction over the twelve western states of the United States.  Prior to this appointment, he was a Member of Parliament (MP) for the National Party, serving as the MP for Pakuranga, Auckland, since 1987.  He has held a range ministerial portfolios in successive governments, including Transport, Broadcasting, Building & Construction, Customs, Land Information, Statistics, Science and Technology, Local Government, Communications, Information Technology, and Small Business.  Before entering Parliament, he worked in the Corporate Planning Division of Air New Zealand from 1975-1987, with various postings overseas, including to the United States.

“We are extremely honored to have Mr. Williamson and his wife join us for the beginning of Andrew’s tenure with the Symphony,” says David Hamilton, Board President of the Symphony. “The entire concert is a celebration, from Andrew’s beginning to a having international guest soloists, as well as a strong orchestra, board and staff, the Symphony is an incredible cultural treasure in the community and one of the best entertainment experiences in town.”

Concert Tickets and Pricing

Subscription seats are on sale now and provide a substantial cost savings over single tickets. Single Tickets are now on sale at PACSLO.org or by calling the box office at 805-756-4849. Single ticket prices for the 2017-18 Season are $20, $40, $70, $75, and $80. Full season subscriptions that include the five Classics in the Cohan concerts are priced from $88 to $374 with 12% off regular single-ticket price. The three-concert Chamber Series subscription is $92. New Years Eve POPS ticket prices range from $25 to $90. Subscription tickets are available for purchase by phone at 805-543-3533 or in person at 75 Higuera St., Ste. 160 until October 6, 2017.