2022-2023 Season at a Glance


Saturday, November 12, 2022 7:30 PM

Andrew Sewell, conductor
Ilya Yakushev, piano


GERSHWIN – Piano Concerto in F

TSFASMAN – Jazz Suite for Piano & Orchestra

TCHAIKOVSKY – Capriccio Italien


East Meets West featuring the return of Ilya Yakushev performing Gershwin’s Piano Concerto in F alongside Tsfasman ‘s Jazz Suite for Piano and Orchestra, in a West coast premiere. Umoja by Valerie Coleman, commissioned by the Philadelphia Orchestra in 2018, opens the program and we conclude with the famous musical postcard, Capriccio Italien by Tchaikovsky.


Sponsored by Jeff & Melodee Brady



Saturday, February 4, 2023 7:30 PM

Andrew Sewell, conductor
Amit Peled, cello

BRAHMS – Variations on a Theme by Haydn

SHOSTAKOVICH – Cello Concerto No. 1

VAUGHAN WILLIAMS – Fantasia on Greensleeves

LILBURN – Symphony No. 2


Cello on Fire features the artistry of Amit Peled, performing Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No.1. NZ composer, Douglas Lilburn studied under Ralph Vaughan Williams in the late 1930s,at the Royal College in London. We feature works by both composers, Fantasia on Greensleeves and Lilburn’s Symphony No.2. Brahms’ Haydn Variations opens the program and will be familiar to many.


Sponsored By Cricket Handler and Jerry Boots ,

Peggy Lance Little in Honor of Luba Staller


Saturday, March 4, 2023 7:30 PM

Andrew Sewell, conductor
Mischa Lefkowitz, violin


SCHUMANN – Violin Concerto
(arr. of Cello concerto Op.129)

DVORAK – Symphony No. 9
“From the New World”

We open with LA-based composer and Grammy Award winner, Patrice Rushen’s “Sinfonia”. Keeping with the LA connection, our soloist in Schumann’s Cello Concerto transcription for violin, is LA Philharmonic first violin, and recent Nipomo resident, Mischa Lefkowitz. Dvorak’s Symphony No.9 “From the New World” , incorporates American- inspired themes from his time in Spillville, Iowa from 1893.


Sponsored by Len Jarrott


Saturday, May 6, 2023 7:30 PM

Andrew Sewell, conductor
Anthony Yi, saxophone

HINDEMITH- Symphonic Metamorphosis of Themes by Carl Maria von Weber

BANFIELD- Testimony of Tone, Tune, and Time (West Coast Premiere)

TCHAIKOVSKY- Symphony No. 4 in F minor


Concluding the season are two masterpieces that highlight the orchestra – Hindemith’s Symphonic Metamorphosis on Themes  of Carl Maria von Weber and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No.4.  A newly commissioned work for two narrators, saxophone, piano, harp, percussion and strings by William Banfield will have its West Coast premiere. Based upon and inspired by, the speeches of Frederick Douglass, Testimony of Tone, Tune and Time received its world premiere on July 13th, 2022.



Sponsored By Martha Michalojko Kettelkamp and Richard Andrews


This season is sponsored by :